Chicken Enchilada Dip: Touchdown!

A coworker found a recipe for this dip and shared it with me. I knew it was just the thing to bring with me to yesterday’s Superbowl Party at D&R’s home.

The original recipe suggested using pre-seasoned chicken fajitas, I chose to cook my own chicken. This recipe will work with any cooked chicken, if you’re short for time, use a rotisserie chicken from your local grocer. I made some other modifications to the recipe, it was a hit!

Chicken Enchilada Dip

4 cps chicken meat, cooked and cubed
8 oz cream cheese, softened
1/2 cp mayonnaise
2/3 cp sour cream
1 clove garlic, crushed
2/3 cp sharp cheddar, shredded
2/3 cp Monterrey Jack, shredded
2 fresh serrano peppers, finely diced
10 canned chilies (like serrano or jalapeño), diced
2 tbsp juice from the chili can

Note: You should adjust the amount of peppers you use to your taste. The measurements I submit here made for a dip that was delicious with only a hint of heat. I used fresh and canned chilies because the original recipe called for some of the juice to be added. I think the recipe would be fine without it.

Set aside enough of the cheese to sprinkle over the top when baking, I reserved about 1/4 cp total for topping. Preheat oven to 350°.

In your mixer, combine the cream cheese, mayo, sour cream, garlic, chili juice and cheeses, mix until smooth. Then add the chicken, peppers and mix thoroughly. Transfer the dip to a baking dish, whatever you want to use to serve it and top it with the reserved cheese. Bake for 15-20 minutes, just long enough to heat it through, then turn on the broiler and remove it from the oven once the cheese is golden brown.

Allow it to cool before digging in. Serve with tortilla chips.

Vote for it here.

Cookingly yours,
Anamaris

7 thoughts on “Chicken Enchilada Dip: Touchdown!

  1. Dione says:

    It was so yummy! and take my word for it – it works hot or cold! I have been munching on the leftover. So glad to have the recipe!

Leave a comment